EAPC Researcher Awards

The Researcher Awards (former Early Researcher Award) were created as an annual award by the EAPC in 2009. The awards are designed to recognise the work of scientists and clinicians in the field of palliative care who have recently made, or are currently making an outstanding contribution to research and clinical practice. The awards aim to highlight the individual’s career development and their potential.  The awards were originally known as the Early Researcher Awards, but since 2017, there are three distinct award categories:

  1. Early Research Award
  2. Post-Doctoral Award
  3. Clinical Impact Award 

Be inspired by the winners accounts of their research on the EAPC Researcher Awards blog which you can view here

How to apply for a Researcher Award 

Winners 2018

EAPC World Congress, Bern, Switzerland

Anna Collins (Early Research Award) (Australia) 
Lorna Fraser (Post-Doctoral Award) (UK)
Thomas Le Blanc (Clinical Impact Award) (USA)

Winners 2017

EAPC World Congress, Madrid, Spain

Lara Pivodic (Early Research Award) (Belgium)
Irene Truffrey-Wijne (Post-Doctoral Award) (UK)
Miguel Julião (Clinical Impact Award) (Portugal)


Winner 2016

EAPC World Research Congress, Dublin, Ireland

Russell Portenoy: Palliative care services in the US health care system – what is the evidence?

Winner 2014

EAPC World Congress, Leida, Spain

Augusto Caraceni: Opioids in palliative care: How can research lead to a better clinical practice?

Winner 2018

EAPC World Research Congress, Bern, Switzerland

Irene Higginson: Future-proofing Dame Cicely Saunders’ Centenery of Change: Integrating research, education and clinical care


Winners 2013

EAPC World Congress, Prague, Czech Republic

Meera Agar (Australia)
Jeroen Hasselaar (Netherlands)
Barbara Gomes (Portugal) 

Winner 2012

EAPC World Research Congress, Trondheim, Norway

Eduardo Bruera: The development of a research field over 25 years: Most important findings and their impact 

Winners 2011

EAPC World Congress, Lisbon, Portugal

Ralf Jox (Germany)
Saskia Jünger (Germany)
Judith Rietjens (Netherlands)

Winner 2010

EAPC World Research Congress, Glasgow, Scotland

Franco De Conno: The development of research in palliative care

Winners 2009

EAPC World Congress, Vienna, Austria

Jenny van der Steen (Netherlands)
Catherine Walshe (UK)
Martin Fegg (Germany)