CME Accreditation

CME credits

The 15th World Congress of the European Association for Palliative Care is accredited by the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME) to provide the following CME activity for medical specialists. The EACCME is an institution of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS), www.uems.net.

The 15th World Congress of the European Association for Palliative Care is designated for a maximum of 14 hours of European external CME credits.

EACCME credits

Each medical specialist should claim only those hours of credit that he/she actually spent in the educational activity. The EACCME credit system is based on 1 ECMEC per hour with a maximum of 3 ECMECs for half a day and 6 ECMECs for a full-day event.


The event was supported, in part, by funding from industry. All support was managed in strict accordance with CME/CPD accreditation criteria and standards for commercial support.

madrid sponsors

 madrid sponsors 2



Travel Grants

The International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care (IAHPC) and the European Association for Palliative Care (EAPC) are pleased to announce the winners of this year’s IAHPC Traveling Scholarships to support their travel to the 15th World Congress of the European Association for Palliative Care (EAPC) in Madrid, Spain, May 18 – 20, 2017.

As per the criteria for applications, all grantees are active member of IAHPC, working actively in palliative care and are registered web users of the EAPC database. Preference was given to individuals who work in countries that are classified as lower, lower-middle or upper-middle income categories.

In total, fifty applications were received from a wide range of countries, background and professions, including physicians, nurses, psychologists and other disciplines. The committee was pleased with the high quality of applications and would like to thank all those who applied, for their interest in both the IAHPC and EAPC World Congress.

The final list of the 28 grantees selected by IAHPC and EAPC are:

Maria de los Angeles Minatel MD
Vicente Lopez, Argentina
Narine Movsisyan MD
Yerevan, Armenia
Yeva Asribabayan PhD
Yerevan, Armenia
Davie Mpate
Zomba, Malawi
Edita Birskyte MD
Kaunas, Lithuania
Leidy Viviana Nandar Araujo MD
Mainnzales, Colombia
Lee Chee Chan MD
Kuantan, Malaysia
Theodora Ndunguru
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
 Pati Dzotsenidze MD
Tbilisi, Georgi
Sunita Panta MD
Kathmandu, Nepal
Nahla Gafer MD
Khartoum, Sudan
Marija Inesa Poniskaitene MD/PhD
Kaunas, Lithuania
Marcela Gonzalez Otaiza MD
Santiago, Chilie
Jorge Alberto Ramos Guerrero MD
San Martin Hidalgo, Mexico
Coumba Gueya MZ
Dakar, Senegal
Nora Helena Saldarriago Cartagena
Medellin, Colombia
Maya Jane Bates
Blantyre, Malawi
Gabriela Sarmiento Brecher MD
Bogota, Colombia
Phanice Jepkemoi Tom
Eldoret, Kenya
Sandra Patricia Silva
Bogota, Colombia
Rita Kabasinskiene MD
Kauno, Lithuania
Abdullateef Gbenga Sule MD
Zaria, Nigeria
Alick Austine Kayange MD
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Luz Adriana Templos Esteban
Mexico City, Mexico
Kellen Kimani PhD
Nairobi, Kenya
Jack Turyahikayo
Kampala, Uganda
Joshua Ngwang Menang RN
Mutengene, Cameroon
Samy Alsirafy
Cairo, Egypt

Two additional Traveling Scholarships were given to IAHPC members through the Membership Recognition Award program.

Loyalty Recognition Award Winner
Kathleen Introna RN
Nongkhai, Thailand

Membership Recognition Award
Faraja Kiwanga MD
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania